Borough of Avalon

640 California Ave.

Pittsburgh, PA  15202

P: 412-761-5820

F: 412-761-5953

Business Hours: 8:00am - 4:00pm





The Joint Planning Commission is a panel of representatives from Avalon,Bellevue and Ben-Avon that was established to develop the Tri-Borough Joint Zoning Ordinance. The Commission continues to meet monthly, the last Monday of each month, 7:00 pm in the Avalon Borough Council Chambers, 640 California Avenue. Contact Michael Kurela via email here, Chairman of the Joint Planning Commission, for questions, comments or concerns.

The Joint Planning Commission meets at the Avalon Borough Building, 7:00 pm on the 4th Monday of the month.  

The schedule for 2018 is as follows:

January 22, 2018
February 26, 2018
March 26, 2018
April 23, 2018
May 21, 2018
June 25, 2018
July 23, 2018
August 27, 2018
September 24, 2018
October 22, 2018
November 19, 2018
December 17, 2018

The Joint Planning Commission Members consist of three (3) representatives from each Borough:

Avalon  - Michael Kurela        Bellevue - Thomas Hrynda       Ben Avon - Scott Keener

                Steph Sadler                              Catherine Tulley                         Catherine Houska

                David Haslett                             Jodi Hause                                  John Busse

Please contact all members at





Avalon Borough uses the Tri-Borough Joint Zoning Ordinance for all zoning specifications and regulations. Links are provided below for your convenience. Zoning questions should be directed to Avalon Borough at 412-761-5820. Avalon Borough's Zoning Officer is David Haslett. 


If your situation requires a variance from a particular zoning ordinance regulation, a Zoning Hearing Board has been established to conduct hearings and make decisions in accordance with the Tri-Borough Joint Zoning Ordinance. Applications for variances and hearing fees may be obtained from the Avalon Borough Administration Office.  Zoning Hearings will be scheduled on the 2nd Tuesday of the month.

Zoning Hearing Board Members:

John Werner  

Ryan Dearing

Derek Jackson


Tri-Borough Joint Zoning Ordinance


Tri-Borough Zoning Map